Ruby Lake NWR

Ruby Lake NWR

View Nevada Fishing Map in a larger map


Ruby Lake is a natural, spring fed, high elevation marsh, located entirely in the Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge (NWR). The refuge is divided into the North Dike units and the South Lake.

Pertinent Information

Ruby Lake lies at an elevation of 6,000 feet in a closed basin and the refuge contains over 9,000 acres of lakes, ponds, and waterways intermixed with islands and bulrush stands to the south and manmade dike units to the north. Depths vary from several inches to 12 feet deep and game fish are comprised of largemouth bass, rainbow trout, tiger trout, brown trout, and brook trout. The average size for largemouth bass is around 11 inches and trout typically surpassed 15 inches. The normal bass fishing lures include crankbaits, topwater, rubber worms, and spinner baits as well as bass flies. Most forms of bait such as salmon eggs, nightcrawlers, and Power Bait work for trout as well as small spinners, spoons, and flies. Spring through early summer or fall is the best time to fish for trout, while bass fishing is usually good in spring through fall. A Forest Service campground is situated adjacent to Ruby Lake and there are several primitive camping sites scattered in the foothills along the west side. There are two boat ramps for South Lake, the Main Boat Landing and Narciss Boat landing..


Stocking Updates


Nevada Fishing Regulations

Boating Regulations

Between June 15 and July 31, only motorless boats, float tubes, and boats with electric motors are allowed (for protecting waterfowl nesting). From August 1 through December 31, motorless boats, float tubes, and boats propelled by motors of 10 hp or less are allowed.


From Elko, travel approximately 65 miles over Harrison Pass (Ruby Mountains) on Highway 227/228 to Ruby Valley and the Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge.


  • Rainbow Trout
  • Brook Trout
  • Brown Trout
  • Cutthroat Trout
  • Rainbow Cutthroat Hybrid
  • Tiger Trout
  • Largemouth Bass

  • Regions

  • Eastern Nevada

  • Counties

  • Elko County