Native American Consultation

The Governor's Sage Grouse Conservation team has sought to be an inclusive group. The Team recognizes that Native Americans in Nevada and surrounding States have significant interest in sage grouse and sage grouse management in Nevada. Consultation provides an invaluable means of obtaining expert advice, ideas, and diverse opinions from Native American constituents regarding the management appropriate treatment of Federal and state resources.

Several Federal laws require some level of consultation with Native Americans. Consultation accomplished through Formal Consultation or Informal Consultation. The Formal Consultation process will be assigned to Federal Land Management Agencies and the State Government. Informal Consultations can be accomplished by Local Area Planning groups or their members, the State or the Federal Government. It is important to record consultation events so we can track who has been contacted and which tribes need to be consulted. We also need to keep Native Americans informed of our conservation planning and actions.

Contacts: Battle Mountain Band Council
Stanford Knight Chairperson
37 Mountain View Dr., #C
Battle Mountain NV 89820
Phone: 775.635.2004
Fax: 775.635.8016

Duck Valley Shoshone Pauite Tribe
attn: Marcie Phillips
HC 30 B-13,
P.O. Box 219
Owyhee, NV 89832-0129
(775) 757-3211

Carson Colony Council
Gary Nevers Chairman
2900 South Curry Street
Carson City, NV 89703
(775) 883-6459

Dresslerville Community Council
Anthony Smokey Chairman
1585 Watasheanu Drive
Gardnerville, NV 89410
(775) 265-5645

Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
Henry "Mike" Blackeye, Jr. Chairman
P.O. Box 140068
Duckwater, NV 89314
(775) 757-3211

Elko Band Council
Fermina Stevens Chairperson
525 Sunset Street
Elko NV 89801
(775) 863-0227

Ely Shoshone Council
Diana Buckner Chairman
16 Shosone Circle
Ely, NV 89301

Fallon Business Council
Donna Cossette Chairperson
8955 Mission Road
Fallon NV 89406
Phone: 775.423.6075
Fax: 775.423.5202
Fort. McDermitt Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
Robert Garfield Chairperson
P O Box 457
McDermitt, NV 89421
(775) 532-8259

Fort Mojave Indian Tribe
Nora Hilton Chairperson
500 Merriman Street
Needles, CA 92363
(760) 629-4591

Goshute Business Council
Amos Murphy Chairman
P O Box 6104
Ibapah, UT 84034
(435) 234-1138

Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada
Daryl Crawford Exec. Director
680 Greenbrae Drive
Sparks, NV 89431
(775) 355-0600

Las Vegas Indian Center, Inc.
Richard Arnold Exec. Director
2300 West Bonanza Road
Las Vegas, NV 89701
(702) 647-5842

Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
Gloria Hernandez Chairperson
One Pauite Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89106
(702) 386-3926

Lovelock Paiute Tribe
Glen Wasson Chairman
P.O. Box 878
Lovelock, NV 89419
(775) 273-7861

Moapa Business Council
Phil Swain Chairperson
P O Box 340
Moapa, NV 89025
(702) 865-2787 ext. 201

Nevada Urban Indians Inc.
Janet Reeves Exec. Director
1190 Bible Way
Reno, NV 89502
(775) 788-7600

Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe
C/O Robin Powell
P.O. Box 256
Nixon, NV 89424
(775) 574-0101

Reno-Sparks Indian Colony
Arlan Melendez Chairman
98 Colony Road
Reno, NV 89502
(775) 329-2936

South Fork Band Council
Larson Bill Chairman
HC 30 B-13, Spring Creek
Lee, NV 89815
(775) 744-4273

South Fork Band of the Western Shoshone Tribe
Dallas Smales
21 Lee Unit B13
Springcreek, NV 89815
(775) 744-2387

Walker River Paiute Tribe
Tad Williams
P.O. Box 220
Schurz, NV 89427
(775) 773-2306

Stewart Community Council
Wanda Batchelor Chairperson
5300 Snyder Ave.
Carson City, NV 89701
(775) 883-6459

Summit Lake Paiute Tribe
C/O Mike Lopushinsky
655 Anderson Street
Winnemucca, NV 89445
(775) 623-5151

Te-Moak Tribal Council
Felix Ike Chairman
525 Sunset Street
Elko, NV 89801

Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
Richard Boland Chairperson
P.O. Box 206
Death Valley, CA 92328
(760) 786-2374

Washoe Tribe of Nevada & California
John Warpeha
919 HWY 395 South
Gardnerville, NV 89410
(775) 265-9388

Wells Band Council
Willie Johnny Chairperson
P.O. Box 809
Wells, NV 89835
(775) 752-3045

Winnemucca Colony Council
P O Box 1370
Winnemucca, NV 89446
(775) 623-0888

Woodfords Community Council
Mahlon Machado Chairman
96 Washoe Blvd.
Markleeville, CA 96120
(530) 694-2170

Yerington Paiute Tribe
Duane Masters, Sr.
603 West Bridge Street
Yerington, NV 89447
(775) 463-7866

Yerington Tribal Council
Elwood Emm Chairman
171 Campbell Lane
Yerington, NV 89447
(775) 463-3301

Yomba Shoshone Tribe
James Birchim Chairman
HC 61 Box 6275
Austin, NV 89310
(775) 964-2463